Concept Competition

The Concept Competition is the first stage in a three part series of annual competitions organized under the UVA Entrepreneurship Cup. $25,000 in total prize money will be awarded as part of the Concept Stage.

The purpose of the Concept stage of the competition is to surface and seed ideas from all parts of the university at every stage of development. Students are encouraged to come up with out-of-the-box ideas that could be translated into compelling projects. Submissions are not expected to be a full business plan, and will not be penalized for not having a working prototype, fully developed team, forecast, revenues, etc.


Friday, October 23, 2020 - Submissions are due by 12:00PM Eastern Time (HIGH NOON)
Monday, November 2, 2020 - Finalists are announced 
Top 8 Finalists Videos Due: 11:59PM EST on Sunday, November 8, 2020
Week of Nov 9, 2020 - Final Presentations by Track 
Click Here to View the Final Presentation Dates by Track


The Concept Competition for the 2020-2021 academic year will be organized according to five themed tracks:

  • Health Care Services & Technologies
  • Social Entrepreneurship
  • Consumer/Business-to-Business
  • Science/Technology/Innovation
  • UVA Wise (for students studying at the UVA College at Wise ONLY)

Students are allowed to enter the Track of their choosing, but encouraged to enter the Track that seems most appropriate for their project. The top five projects in each of the five Tracks will be awarded $1,000 each, for a total of $25,000 in awards.

2021 Venture Lab Opportunity for Concept Winners

The top five projects selected in each of the five Tracks will be invited to apply for early selection to the 2021 Venture Lab. Teams interested in this early application will receive a request to meet with a selection committee. Jason Brewster, Director of the program, will gather additional information about interested teams and their projects and schedule interviews with the committee for late fall, with decisions announced by December 2020.

For more information about the Concept Competition, follow the links below: